Two Simple Questions-Building Capacity in Walk Throughs and Observations

Last week I posted about Kelly Wright’s performance task for prospective school leaders.  I wanted to share this related idea from Aaron Brenner (founder of KIPP Shine-KIPP’s first primary school). When Aaron visits a school he asks the leader, “What should I see when I walk through your school?”  Then he proceeds to visit classrooms with the leader.  The moment of genius (at least for me) is that after the walk through, rather than immediately sharing his notes, Aaron asks “did I see it?”

This is such a simple powerful way to ground the conversation in evidence and develop a leader’s capacity to see.  I would love to try a similar conversation with the teachers I work with in the fall.

Leave a Reply

